index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Infamous Grump
2:24 p.m. & Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2004

Worst morning ever. Worst. Morning. EVER.

I lost my cool with one of the analysts this morning. We�re making an initial investment with one of his managers (I�ll call them Grump) this month, and the people in the Grump office haven�t been helpful or even pleasant. They�ve been demanding and snippy, and I beg your pardon? Just remind me, who�s the client in this relationship? Ohhhhh, riiiiiiiight: We are. Remember?

So I came in this morning to find lots of �Hey, uh, where�s our money?� e-mails because several wires STILL hadn�t gone out for October 1 investments, and I immediately started composing apologetic, conciliatory replies. And then this analyst phoned to tell me he�s received a frantic phone call from someone at Grump. The analyst sounded pretty frantic himself. Grump hadn�t received some of our documents, due to hurricane-related technical difficulties our offshore administrator is still trying to resolve. I�ve explained this all, twice, to the Grump investor relations person. Our administrator has also explained it to her twice. The analyst wanted me to talk to the guy at Grump, and explain it again.

I said no, I can�t spend all day every day talking to Grump. We�ve explained the situation several times, nothing has changed but we are working on it, and that is all. Right now I have another fire to put out. I do not have the time or patience to explain everything a third time.

The analyst was, um, rather peeved at my response, and so rattled the cage of a senior managing director, who came to my desk to request sedatives for the analyst. Heh. (Sedatives? The line forms behind me, my friend!) Grump�s investor relations person phoned me three times, and phoned my administrator half a dozen times. Beeyotch. Then my favorite senior vice president happened to ask how my day was going and I told him about my concerns. He (with the analyst) called Grump and asked that they kindly stop calling us relentlessly while we try to resolve the issue at hand.

And since then, my phone has been blessedly silent. Amen.

While I�m not in trouble for any of this, it disturbs me that our relationship with Grump has had this rocky start. I don�t feel good about it.

Let�s see, what else . . . oh. Another friend from work got engaged. On her birthday. How funny is that? Gee whiz, I couldn�t even get laid on my birthday.

But I�m not bitter. My day will come. Or not. Who knows.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter