index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Buck. Up. NOW.
4:42 p.m. & Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2004

One of these days I will have to stop getting upset when other people get to do stuff I don�t get to do, like going to Europe on vacation and marrying men who love them madly. The world is full of people who are deserving and wonderful but who still get the short end of the stick in a very serious way, and you don�t see THEM crying in the ladies� room, now do you? No, you do not. So: Buck up, self. Drink some hot chocolate or something. At least you have your sense of humor, and you can get some beer on your way home to watch Q_ueer Eye. It could be worse.

The new shoes are not the Miracle Cure I hoped they would be. I�ve still had problems with my shins and knee the last couple of mornings. This is frustrating, because it really slows me down so I�m not getting the great workout I need. I think the shins will feel better as I continue to build those muscles. I don�t know about the knee, but I guess I�ll see soon enough.

Last night was �Back to School Night� (for parents) at J�s school, and Sunday there�s a Sukkot party at the school. (J�s father drove me up. the. wall, but the less said about that the better. We all know how he is.) This all feels very strange, and I have no idea what I�m doing, none at all. I don�t want to go anywhere and interact with anyone, but this isn�t the time to get all anti-social and stuff. I�m a Room Parent, so there�s no place to hide.

Speaking of Sukkot . . . every year C_habad builds a sukkah on the terrace behind my apartment building. This morning I noticed that the sukkah was completely flattened by the wind overnight. Sad. The wind was pretty fierce; I remember waking up enough for my sleepy brain to wonder if perhaps we were having a hurricane, and then J flopped onto the bed beside me, and then we both conked out again.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter