index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Small person, big worries
4:19 p.m. & Thursday, Sept. 09, 2004

My little J worries a lot sometimes. Last night he reminded me that I�m about to turn thirty-seven and I�m just going to get older and older all the time, and then he launched into a series of questions about what will happen when I�m too old to take care of him. Could he go to live with his dad? What if something happens to his dad? Would Grandma take care of him? What if something happens to her? Aunt Meg and Uncle Clark would take care of him? What if something happens to them; then where would he go? And he doesn�t want to grow up and leave me, ever, and he wishes he were a baby again.

I know these worrisome things are on his mind because his world is topsy-turvy right now, and he spends his days with unfamiliar people in an unfamiliar place. I also know that he�ll adjust, and he�ll be fine. Still, it makes me sad to see my sweet little boy so worried.

In an odd twist, I didn't go to the C_ubs game with my co-workers last night but I lucked into four *incredibly* good seats for tomorrow afternoon's doubleheader against the M_arlins: fourth row, directly behind home plate. My division's president offered up his tickets, and I am the happy new owner. I'm taking J, Gemini, and one of Gemini's friends, and I can't wait.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter