index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
The death of the party
7:45 p.m. & Sunday, Sept. 05, 2004

J scored big today. In our back-to-school shopping marathon he acquired jeans, cargo pants, shirts, and two pairs of shoes. I didn't really mean to buy anything for myself, but I couldn't resist a pair of Italian burgundy suede d'Orsay pumps. So pretty! And only $50! Love.

Yesterday I argued with a cranky Gemini. Doesn't like my movie choices, isn't interested in the restaurants on my "really, really want to try" list . . . remind me again why he wanted to go back to being my boyfriend? He claims I'm not boring, but also claims I'm not interested in anything.

I have my limits, yes. I don't love video games or televised poker. I've had enough of "parties" at bars where the other patrons are in their early twenties. And correct me if I'm wrong, but I do not believe a person can be said to be "having a party" if the person's friends have to pay a cover and then pony up for drinks and food too. Is this what passes for a party these days? Whatever happened to actual parties, where a host provides food and beverage, and the guests show up with a nice bottle of wine or a fancy box of little pastries from a good bakery?

Also, I've had MORE than enough of "parties" where the first person we see is his ex-girlfriend and I have to suck it up and make nice. To me, this seems eminently understandable.

So no, these few things do not interest me. But a hundred-and-one other things do. For starters, just for starters, I'm interested in:

museums of all kinds

the zoo

the aquarium

botanical gardens

neighborhood/ethnic festivals

plays

concerts

firework displays

neighborhood tours

baseball games

new restaurants

picnics

sitting and reading together by the lakefront

movies that make me think

canoeing on the river

taking a yoga class together

board games and crossword puzzles

learning to play golf

re-learning to play tennis

cooking classes/demonstrations

checking out M_illennium Park

playing in a fountain

horseback riding

browsing in bookstores

wine/champagne/liquor/cheese tastings

making my own beeswax candles

afternoon tea

cooking

gourmet/ethnic grocery shops

drooling over scooters

wandering in and out of eclectic little shops

curling up for an afternoon nap together

going almost any place I've never been

real conversation

working on my chopstick skills

an occasional night out dancing

So *yawn* boring, I know.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter