index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Field Trip
7:45 p.m. & Sunday, Aug. 29, 2004

The weekend was, I feel, a great success. Friday night was dinner with Gemini. At some point in the night I woke to the sound of driving rain and booming thunder. I love that. The next morning I fetched J at his dad's and took him for a get-ready-for-kindergarten haircut. He looks adorable!

To celebrate the cool, overcast day, we snuggled on the couch under a down comforter and had a long nap. When we woke up, we went downtown for dinner and a movie. I won't even tell you which movie; it was awful, just awful. J loved it, though, as only a five-year-old could.

Today was our expedition to a big Judaica store way up north. We bought four kippot, a CD of Shabbat music, a children's book about Shabbat, and magnetic Hebrew letters. I eyed the beautiful mezuzot and silver candelabra, but decided to wait for a time when I'm feeling more flush, financially speaking. Everyone there avoided eye contact with me, I guess because I'm scary? Or more likely, I'm just immodest in my pants. Memo to self: shop for Judaica online from now on.

After the shopping, I took J to an Indian restaurant. He gamely tried everything on the table--the mango lassi, the masala dosa, the vegetable pakora. He didn't like any of it, but at least he tried. We wandered a bit in some little Indian and kosher grocery stores, marvelling at all the cool stuff on the shelves. One day soon I must figure out what to do with all those intriguing varieties of Israeli cheese. We window-shopped at the Russian bakery and fish store, peered at the Afghan restaurant's menu, stopped to have my brows threaded ($5!!! What!??!! Love!) and then headed home on the train.

The rest of the day was pure, productive domesticity. I cleaned out the hall closet, scrubbed the bathtub, washed the dishes, and made a frittata (red peppers, onions, musrooms and turkey bacon . . . my breakfast for the next few days). J is soaking his little body in the (clean) bathtub, playing with his Sam and Frodo action figures in their Elven boat.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter