index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Perfectly imperfect
11:14 p.m. & Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2004

I saw my doctor today for a follow-up strep test. Good news: no more strep. Less-good news: now I have a different kind of infection. I'm in for another round of antibiotics. Should I be thinking about phoning the CDC?

There was more ugliness this evening with J's dad about the new school. This time, he threw a fit over the early Friday dismissals that start in November, railing against the school and how difficult they make it for working parents and how they're trying to force people to observe Shabbat (!). My nerves are wearing thin and I don't know how much more of this I can stand before I go utterly, irretrievably bonkers.

I mean, NO, I don't know exactly what we're going to do when school lets out half an hour before the after-school program begins, but why throw a tantrum about it? How does a tantrum help matters? My plan is to talk with the other parents and keep looking for alternate solutions, but prepare my boss for the likelihood that I may have to leave work at 1:00 on Fridays for a while. There isn't much else I can do, is there? And anyway, it would be a nice thing to celebrate Shabbat properly with J.

I hate that J's father is working against everything I'm trying to do. I want SO MUCH to stay positive and hopeful, for J's sake and for my OWN sake, and right now it's a real struggle.

But I did arrange to get my hands on some extra cash. I still have my 401(k) from my last job, and it's not a fortune but it will help. It's almost enough for one of the tuition payments, in fact. In a perfect world I would roll it over to my IRA, but . . . yeah.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter