index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Ya got me?
12:28 p.m. & Tuesday, Aug. 17, 2004

Next Friday is J�s last day at preschool. For three years, we�ve been walking across the street every morning to the same building, the same teachers, the same kids . . . and everything is about to change. I�m nervous and a bit sad, and I don�t think anyone understands. The standard refrain is, �But it�s so exciting!� Yes, it is, but I�m still nervous and sad. �But you want him to go the new school, right?� Yes, but again, still nervous and sad. And frankly, I resent the implication that this is no big whup. Why doesn�t anyone see that this is a big thing for us, and it makes sense for me to be nervous and sad?

On the other hand, it makes perfect sense that no one gets this, because the new rule in my life seems to be that no one gets me. Most of the time I can�t think of anything to say in a social situation. If I do eventually say something, people tend to look at me quizzically, like I have six heads or am speaking an unidentifiable language. Saying something funny only seems to intensify the �whaaaaaaa . . . huh?� reaction. No one seems to get me. I was describing this phenomenon to Gemini the other day and--guess what--he didn�t get it. Sigh.

So apparently I�m ungettable. And I don�t get THAT, because how can that be? I�m just not that weird.

My head is spinning right now, I�ll tell you that much.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter