index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Jump in bed, cover up your head
3:05 p.m. & Wednesday, Aug. 11, 2004

J will be wearing a kippah (yarmulke) in school, and his dad is vehemently opposed because he is (1) worried about J�s safety and (2) offended by all outward signs of religion. Now, is it really so shocking that children in a Jewish school would wear kippot? How did this NOT occur to him before now�especially since his oldest son attends a Jewish school too? He was so hostile, so offensive, so infuriating on the phone that I want to stomp on him.

And cramps, I have cramps.

Breathe deeply and reach for the chocolate.

I guess people who have actual problems must think this is all pretty silly. And I guess it is. I�m just feeling the hurt today, and the exhaustion of having to fight J�s father every step of the way. He�s wearing me out with his objections to everything I do: I dress J wrong, I�m a terrible housekeeper, I chose the wrong school, I don�t handle my money well, I�m not a sensible person, I�m not thinking rationally, I�m a stupid spoiled American, I don�t understand anything, etc.

Who knew I was such a loser? (Besides me, I mean.)

{ prev & next }

Site Meter