index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
-
8:43 p.m. & Friday, Jun. 25, 2004

P_enicillin is good, VERY good. Old-fashioned, true, but I feel so much better. Today I felt like my normal self again.

Half my office contributed to a lottery pool today. Unfortunately, we didn't win $171,000,000. But I did think a bit about what I would do with my share, which would have worked out to about $2,500,000:

- Invest the first million. Figure out a way to live (modestly) off my investment income while I pursue more meaningful work.

- Buy a very nice place to live. Central air, hardwood floors, parking space/garage, three or four bedrooms, outdoor space. $750,000

- Buy a car. First choice: a P_rius. $20,000

- Buy my sister a bigger house. $200,000

- Write a check to the Day School for the amount of the full annual tuition. $13,000

- Write a check to my favorite charitable organization. $25,000

- Pay off my student loan. $5,000

- Take a couple of long vacations. Drive around the country, with J, in my NEW CAR. Go to Israel. Lie on a beach in Fiji or Greece and laugh/weep with gratitude. $25,000

And I would have enough left over to open an interest-bearing checking account!

{ prev & next }

Site Meter