index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Principal's office
4:57 p.m. & Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

Yesterday was odd. I did a lot of paperwork so my desk is now much cleaner, which is odd enough in itself. And Mark called me Monday night, which was enough to bathe the entire day in a surreal light.

He had no explanation for not calling, none whatsoever. He apologized, and said (1) I didn�t do anything to upset him, (2) he thinks I�m great, and (3) he doesn�t know why he didn�t call. Very strange. I don�t know what to make of it. He asked me to have dinner with him, and I said I would. I�m not sure I�m looking forward to it. A two-week disappearance is a real turn-off. Is this an anomaly, or is he a genuine flake?

Gemini is leaving next Friday for a spiritual retreat. After a few days of group discussions and meetings, he�ll spend four days fending for himself alone in the wilderness. He decided to do this because he needs to figure out his life, but he�s very nervous about going. I think it�s a great thing for him to do, and I hope it�s a productive time for him. I wonder what will happen when he comes back.

And: the day school recently hired a new Head of School, and she�s in town for a few days, and she wants to meet with me tomorrow morning at eight o�clock at her hotel. I have no idea what to expect and I am a nervous wreck. I don�t know if I should expect a cordial getting-to-know-you meeting, or a deflating what-kind-of-parent-are-you-and-why-are-you-so-broke-and-why-should-we-give-you-more-financial-aid meeting.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter