index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Smart kid!
4:24 p.m. & Tuesday, Apr. 27, 2004

It�s COLD today�I wore my winter COAT and my GLOVES, and I could have used a wool scarf to boot. Dammit.

This morning I went to J�s school to observe him in his classroom and have a little conference with his teacher. He�s very bright, my kid. He can read and do addition, and soon he�ll start working on subtraction. He�s doing so well that I�m considering letting him stay at the Montessori school for another year, until he�s ready for first grade. Choosing a school for J is one of those up-in-the-air situations that is making me very nervous.

And Mark hasn�t called me since I last saw him, even though I left a �just calling to say hi� voicemail Sunday evening. I think he is ditching me. Twenty-four hours with me was clearly too much for him. (As it would be for most people, really.)

If he is ditching me, I�m okay with that. I like a lot of things about him and enjoy his company, but couldn�t yet say whether the relationship had potential. I wasn�t too far out on that limb this time, which is good, but maybe from now on I can avoid the limb entirely. It shouldn�t be too hard, because you know what? I am starting to hate even the idea of a romantic relationship. Success in this arena seems to require not only the right guy but also the right time and the right skills, and I believe I may be 0 for 3.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter