index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Silly me
3:30 p.m. & Wednesday, Apr. 14, 2004

Last night was so nice . . . we had really good Chinese food delivered, camped on the couch, and watched TV (Queer Eye with a side of George W. Bush�what a crazy combo). We are becoming very comfortable and chatty together. He is impossibly nice and affectionate, and he gets all my jokes, and he has a little silly streak. And he watched Queer Eye without complaining, even though he is a manly man with a union gig. He has nice biceps, too, mrowr. (I just got a little shiver!) I like him. This feels better, so much better, so much happier.

I am still slightly red-faced about spending most of yesterday being firmly convinced that I had turned him off completely and would not be hearing from him again. Hee, that was so silly. Unless he is an accomplished liar and a gifted actor, it�s just not possible. Reaching over to stroke my hair during the President�s press conference is not the gesture of a man who is turned off.

In other news, the day school would like me to give them a nonrefundable deposit of $1800 to secure J�s place in the school. And they would like me to do this before they tell me how much financial aid they can give us. So this morning I spoke to the head of school, and explained that the financial aid package will be the deciding factor for us. She said the financial aid committee will meet next week, and they want to know that a family is committed to the school before they determine how much aid to provide. In other words, I�m to write a check that, in the event we don�t receive enough financial aid, will simply become a nice donation to the school. I have the money (tomorrow is bonus day!), I have no problem with a tuition deposit, and I see their point about demonstrating commitment to the school . . . but I can�t afford to let them keep $1800 if J can�t go to school there. I'm a little ashamed, though I guess I needn't be.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter