index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
No place like domicile
4:45 p.m. & Tuesday, Mar. 09, 2004

Domicile. I just had to identify the domicile for each of our eighty-plus offshore investments. Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Bermuda . . . I wouldn�t mind being domiciled in one of these places myself, even just for a week. Especially since the temperature has dropped and it is snowing today. Brrrrrrrr.

J visited the Jewish school yesterday afternoon, to get acquainted with the director, the teachers, and the kids. He liked it, and was so thrilled that they gave him a snack and let him work on an art project. And I am crossing my fingers until we hear something about financial aid. Next year�s tuition will be $13,500. I just added up the cost of after-school programs (about $2400 a year) and summer day camp (about $2700 for eight weeks) at the Jewish Community Center, and it seems utterly hopeless. All of these things together add up to more than half of my annual net income. Unless we are offered a shockingly large amount of financial aid--like 70% of the tuition--I don�t know how I can do this without giving up things like my health insurance and my apartment.

How are other people managing this? Not everyone who sends his/her kids to day school is an investment banker or a surgeon, and I know for a fact that these day school families are not living in small rental apartments and relying on public transportation. I suppose it�s a matter of having a second income, or help from one�s family, or some form of independent wealth. Or a fairy godmother? Who knows. I must stop worrying about it right now, though. Like everything else, we�ll see how it shakes out. If it is meant to be, it will happen.

It�s my free night tonight, and I need something to do besides shopping and eating ice cream. I can�t make the 6:00 lecture on the Chartres Cathedral at the Art Institute, and the EU Film Festival offerings for tonight look kind of grim. I don�t want to see anything grim in general, which rules out a lot of movies that are currently out there. In a previous life, I would have been chomping at the bit to see �Monster,� �House of Sand and Fog,� �Mystic River,� �The Fog of War,� �In America,� �Lana�s Rain,� and �Osama.� Even �ER� is too grim for me these days. �Clean Sweep� and �Queer Eye� have about as much emotional content as I can manage. (Does this mean that, deep down, I�m really very shallow? Even if I don�t bounce to the other end of the spectrum and see �Eurotrip�?)

So, hmmm, I think tonight I will stop at Whole Foods, watch my beloved Queer Eye, drink tea, and go to bed early. I feel nervous today; I probably need to catch up on my sleep.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter