index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Words fail me
6:29 p.m. & Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2004

Um, so, I know I am driving my poor readers crazy, but I don't know what to say to him. Or whether I have to say anything at all.

Can I just never, ever answer the phone when he calls? Is this cowardly? Or is this the willful act of a woman who has decided she won't tolerate any more nonsense?

He mentioned getting together on Sunday; can I just wait until he calls to ask me about that and say, "No, I don't think so," and then just keep saying that every time he asks me about getting together? And then maybe eventually he would ask, "Can we get together EVER?" and I could just repeat, "No, I don't think so"? I am attracted to the simple elegance of this plan; it reminds me of "Bartleby the Scrivener."

If I thought it would change anything for the better, I would say what I really feel: "No, I don't like being an afterthought in your life. I don't like that you only make plans with me AFTER you've booked up all your prime weekend time. It hurts that I used to be your favorite Saturday-night date, and now I'm just someone to have lunch with when you don't have other plans. It hurts every time I see you. So, no, I don't want to see you or, for that matter, talk to you. But, you know, good luck with that whole maturity thing! I hope that works out for ya!"

But I know from past experience that saying what I really feel generally results in disaster of some sort, and I'm just not sure this is a good week for that.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter