index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
New jeans + new haircut + new dive = more fun
4:33 p.m. & Saturday, Feb. 21, 2004

J has gone to dinner and a play with his father, and I am waiting for my pizza to arrive. I, er, overindulged in vodka last night and haven't felt like eating until now. Ow, my head. I am a lush.

Gemini and I found a great dive last night! This place had friendly bartenders, reasonably-priced drinks, great music, and a huge and quirky memorabilia collection. The only drawback was that the crowd seemed very, very young--as in, at least ten years younger than me. I felt a bit ancient. If I could find a place like that with a crowd more my age, I'd be so thrilled.

He was too tired to go dancing, but we had a great time just hanging out and having a few drinks. He commented that I seem much happier and more relaxed, and he wanted to know where I had left my stressed-out, unhappy self. (Ouch--I didn't know I had been so dour.) I told him that I just realized that even though I have serious responsibilities, I need to have more fun. I've been guilty of boxing myself in, trying to keep everything running perfectly and not taking time to go out and have fun. But now I'm looking for a better balance. We had a great conversation about what's been going on with me and what's been happening with him.

The friend he's been chauffeuring told him, in essence, to get lost. It was a sudden, dramatic scene. Very odd. She's under a lot of pressure--no job, no wheels, no money--and it sounds like she just snapped. I wonder if he has seen the last of her.

I wonder what will happen next.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter