index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Yawn
6:23 p.m. & Sunday, Feb. 15, 2004

Okay, that was a very boring weekend. Saturday I did nothing but drink coffee, read, and listen to NPR until mid-afternoon. Then I went downtown to the Savvy Traveler to look at books about Italy. I poked around, discarded the idea of going to a movie, and came home. Last night I watched the entire last season of "Sex and the City" on VHS, had a good cry, and went to sleep.

This morning I woke with a RAGING headache, drank some coffee, took a pain reliever, and went back to sleep for another hour. Then I went to a used bookstore, ate lunch, and went to the gym. I decided to start working out on the stair-climbing machine a bit, so I can climb steep steps when I'm hiking on the Amalfi Coast one of these days. Today I climbed half a mile on a fairly low setting, and it kicked my patootie. I'm going to have a little competition with myself, keeping track of my time & distance every time.

I bought socks for J at the Gap, and then fetched him from his father's house. On the way home he told me that his eleven-year-old half-brother pronounced their father's apartment "a shithole." I wasn't expecting to hear that word from my preschooler's lips, but, okay. We discussed it.

I'm thinking of making a vanilla cake with chocolate frosting, all from scratch, just for the heck of it. Just to prove I can, and then to have the pleasure of eating it. While I drink tea and read Mars and Venus on a Date and Bella Tuscany.

J hasn't had a nap, so he'll be ready for bed soon.

See? Boring.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter