index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Free & clear
11:47 a.m. & Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2004

Today I feel great. I�ve decided that I just don�t have anything more to say to Gemini. I think it�s just that simple. I�ve had enough and I�m going to walk away for now.

I was feeling sort of baffled about everything when it occurred to me that maybe he really wants to be the kind of person who could be in a committed relationship with someone like me, but he�s simply not ready. I take my responsibilities seriously. I put a lot of effort and thought into raising my child and keeping everything running smoothly. I think a lot about how to improve myself, my life, and my child�s life. It seems to me that part of him is really drawn to the kind of person I am and the kind of life he could have with me, but overall he�s not ready to be a true partner with someone like me.

I could say all of that to him, but what would be the point? When it�s time for him to understand, he will. It�s enough for me that I understand it. Knowing this--knowing that most likely none of this is happening because I�m a horrible, irritating person--I don�t feel angry or upset. I don�t care any less for him, or miss him less, but somehow it�s okay. I don�t even feel like crying. I feel like planning a trip to Europe or signing up for a yoga class. I feel like cooking myself a great dinner and treating myself to a good bottle of wine.

This is actually a truly wonderful day for me. I wish you could all see the genuine smile on my face. I have the most amazing sense of having accomplished something, and I�m really quite happy with myself. It's so . . . strange.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter