index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Nice little world
4:51 p.m. & Monday, Jan. 12, 2004

This morning I toured the new Jewish school, and I think it is wonderful. They have seven children in kindergarten, and they expect the next kindergarten class to be similarly small. In the classroom they have the U.S. and Israeli flags side-by-side (a sight that never fails to choke me up), and the teachers speak to the children in English and Hebrew. They have Judaica everywhere, mixed in with the regular classroom stuff. I�m still feeling bowled over by the place, seven hours later.

So, I am going to write up the application, keep in touch with the director, and hope like crazy. I like the integrated curriculum, the active participation of the parents, the underlying philosophy that there are many ways to be Jewish, the multi-denominational support, the warm relationship with the Catholic school that shares the building, the possibility of an after-school program organized through the JCC . . . I like it all. If J goes to this wonderful school, there could be many positive changes for all of us.

I took the morning off for my visit to the school, and I have to say that it felt fantastic to NOT have to go to work this morning. I am also taking Friday off so I can enjoy a four-day weekend, and next month I�m taking a full week off. It�s been about a year and a half since I had a full week off, so at this point it barely bothers me that I�m not taking a proper vacation. I have a long list of projects I want to do�painting a few things, making window coverings, making slipcovers for my dining chairs, carting stuff to the resale shop, and so on�and I�m looking forward to productive but relaxing days alone. I�ll set up the ironing board and sewing machine, and lose myself in crafty projects and daytime television for a few days.

Now, I just have to figure out how to make covers for the backs of my Windsor chairs. I don�t want a loose cover that has to be adjusted with ties; I want a tailored, close-fitting cover. I was thinking of making one that opens from the bottom at the back and has a V_elcro closure. I also want to put some padding in the front. Time to get some muslin and start experimenting, I think. Fun!

{ prev & next }

Site Meter