index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Retrograde
10:06 a.m. & Sunday, Dec. 28, 2003

I have friends coming for dinner Tuesday night. I want to serve salmon, rice pilaf, orange-glazed carrots, and chilled raspberry mousse with vanilla sauce and cookies. The mousse and vanilla sauce I can do tomorrow night. The salmon can be done quickly on the contact grill while the carrots and pilaf cook on the stovetop.

I would throw the best dinner parties if I didn't have to work for a living.

So, kind of a crappy weekend. Gemini was here Friday night; he walked in (bearing pizza and sushi) and turned on a James Bond movie. He managed to tear himself away for a little bedroom action, then became engrossed in a televised poker tournament. I think he was frustrated because he wanted to go out, but I had to pick up J by 9 o'clock the next morning so I really wasn't up for going out. Also, I WORKED all day Friday and I was TIRED. Finally I went to bed alone, leaving him to watch his guy stuff. He came to bed sometime in the wee hours, leaving all the lights on in the living room, and tried to sleep in the same exact place where I was already sleeping.

Saturday J's father surprised me with the news that he needed $400 from me ($400 being the difference between the rent he pays for our apartment and the amount he can give me for child support now that he's on unemployment). Well, I don't have an extra $400 this month. He didn't tell me he would need it this month, and I didn't plan for it. So he insulted me for a while, saying that he had IMPLIED it and any NORMAL person would have understood that, and did I have to spoon-fed everything, and how typically American, etc. etc., and he hopes J doesn't grow up to be like me, all stupid and such. Yeah. He was really mean, maybe even vicious.

So that's one mean ex, one stressful job, and one self-absorbed "boyfriend" who can't grasp why I'm a little rattled these days. To round everything out, I have increased expenses (in the form of health insurance for J) and decreased income.

But my horoscope says everything will be okay if I can just hang in there until January 6th. Something about a planet in retrograde, I can't remember.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter