index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Moving forward
1:02 p.m. & Monday, Dec. 08, 2003

I talked to Gemini again yesterday morning. He said he would have taken the call in private no matter who the caller was, because he doesn�t like to be distracted when he�s on the phone. I�m going to leave it at that.

J and I went to German�s apartment yesterday to provide moral support while her ex-boyfriend picked up his stuff. She had everything packed in boxes and had already had the locks changed, which impressed me no end. But I feel awful for her. They were together almost exactly a year, and her heart is broken. She really was in love with him.

Gemini came over last night for dinner. I made salmon cakes, mashed potatoes, and a green salad. He was a bit subdued and pensive. Just like me, he has a lot on his mind right now. Somehow this relationship has become simultaneously simple and complicated. The simple part is that we like each other and we like being together. The complicated part is, well, everything else. Having my child involved is probably the biggest complicating factor. Gemini likes J, but he seems uneasy. He may not be ready for this. I give him a lot of credit, though, for making the effort. I can see that this is not easy for him.

But then, it�s not easy for any of us. I think it�s wise to limit the time we all spend together, maybe to just a couple of hours a week for now, and try to spend that time doing something that�s fun for J. This may slow things down considerably, but my instinct tells me this is what we need. Gradual is good, for all of us.

J and I have an industrious week ahead of us: chocolate-dipped pretzels, cinnamon-roasted almonds, homemade granola, and fleece hats with matching mittens. Last night I hit on the brilliant idea of dipping pretzels first into melted peanut-butter chips and then into mini M&Ms. If for some reason it doesn't work, I'm going to smash it all up and mix it into chocolate ice cream, bwahahahaha! I am a genius!

Today my boss is wearing a jingle bell around her neck on a long chain. Jinglejinglejingle, wherever she goes. Yup.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter