index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
The cost of frivolity
9:04 a.m. & Thursday, Dec. 04, 2003

Gemini came over last night to make dinner with me--we sauteed mushrooms, onions, garlic, diced tomatoes, and bell peppers with some spicy Italian turkey sausage and served it with grilled polenta. Oh yum. And he was his usual sweet self, and he said a lot of nice things to me, and we fell asleep on the couch. Comfy. Eventually we staggered off to bed, and he kissed me a few times in his sleep in the middle of the night. Sweet.

I bought a pretty dress for NYE but had to return it. It was black (natch) crepe over satin, in a very flattering cut and length, with a festive pleated ruffle at the hem. Sadly, it also had an un-fixable hole that I only noticed when I got the thing home. But it was a little expensive, so maybe it's for the best. Yesterday I saw something on e-Bay that might be just the ticket, so I am watching it like a HAWK.

I could get the e-Bay dress (new with tags) for about $90, including shipping. I can't remember the last time I spent $90 on a single item of clothing, and this is causing me some stress. $90 is a lot of money for someone who does all her shopping at H & M, F_ilene's Basement, N_ordstrom Rack, M_arshall's, and TJ M_axx. $90 could buy a new winter wardrobe for J, or everything we need to make our holiday gifts for friends and family, or an armful of children's books. (I also feel like hyperventilating every time I think about the price of our tickets for NYE: $195. Each. True story.)

I must pull myself together and switch out of "frugal penny-pinching Kansan" mode. Even my grandmother, who was the epitome of frugality, would not have wanted me to go to the D_rake Hotel's New Year's Eve gala in a corduroy skirt and a pullover.

Now then. Time to check my bargain websites.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter