index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Yum
11:58 a.m. & Thursday, Nov. 13, 2003

Gemini and I cooked dinner together last night: beef stroganoff over egg noodles, asparagus on the side. The food turned out great, and cooking together was really nice. As I was quartering the mushrooms, I realized that I've never cooked with a boyfriend before, mostly because I've never had a boyfriend who liked to cook. That�s a little strange, isn�t it, given that good food is important to me and I love to cook? Gemini is a very good cook, by the way, and that just makes me smile. (Memorable quote from last night: �You should see me work a grill, honey.� Awwww, yeah.)

While we were cooking, J's father called to ask if he could have J for the entire Thanksgiving weekend--Thursday through Sunday. It seems only fair since I had him last year, so I said he could. I'll have a little Thanksgiving dinner with J some other time, but it will be strange to be without him on the actual holiday . . . hm, the thought makes me a little sad.

But Gemini asked me to join him and his parents for Thanksgiving, and of course I said yes. I am nervous, very nervous. I am meeting his parents!! I am thirty-six years old, and I am meeting my boyfriend's parents. I wonder if they might like my honey-pecan pumpkin pie for dessert?

We decided that we will spend the rest of the holiday weekend pretending we�re on vacation. Mostly, I think this will involve sleeping late and lying around in bed a lot. I may get some mints so I can provide turn-down service. (We even joked about replicating the bed & breakfast experience--I'll pick up some country-quaint decorative items for my place, bake an egg casserole and invite a bunch of strangers to eat breakfast with us, etc. Haha.) I have to work the day after Thanksgiving, but he has already asked if he can come downtown and have lunch with me that day. We will also have a little Hanukkah celebration--my chance to make him happy with homemade latkes and some terribly cute gift. He loves that sort of thing and, of course, so do I.

Actually, can I make samosas for Hanukkah? They�re fried in oil and contain potatoes, so . . . ?

Am I hungry? This entry is all about food! Thank goodness it�s nearly lunchtime.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter