index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Treats
11:09 p.m. & Friday, Oct. 31, 2003

I had the craziest day at work. I think we ended up with $245,000,000 going out in about sixty different pieces, roughly half of which were onshore and therefore my direct responsibility. The offshore administrators made my life a lot harder by putting off all their paperwork until today and then e-mailing and phoning me incessantly with problems and requests, and the result was that some of our managers also felt the need to e-mail and phone me repeatedly with problems and requests.

Toward the middle of the afternoon, we learned that the money we needed to fund all our offshore investments won't be available to us until Wednesday. Monday is a holiday in Japan, and we didn't know that. The analysts had to call up their managers and wheedle them into accepting the money late. Everyone was miserable.

I was on the run all day long, and then at about 3:30 I finally sat down at my desk to prepare some courier packages, and the phone rang. And this time it was someone I actually wanted to talk to, and I started to relax and smile and my voice went all soft, and at one point I looked up and everyone in the surrounding cubicles was grinning at me.

He was having a rough day, too, so he called me up to hear my voice. I sort of wanted to reach right through the telephone and pull him close to me.

As far as I can tell, he's exactly the kind of man a lot of women say they want: a sporty man's man with a sensitive side. This is a guy who skis, bikes, plays football, and fixes his own car. He also shows up with flowers, stays with me when I'm sick, tells me I'm an awesome mom, and wants to discuss our relationship.

Hm.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter