index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Friendly
2:05 p.m. & Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003

Hrrrrmmmm, last night was interesting. Social Guy picked me up at 6:30 for the drive out to the social club bowling event--"C_osmic Bowling." He had a Sweetest Day gift for me, which I never would have expected. He gave me a gorgeous French press and a pound of coffee, saying "I know you love your coffee." It's weird because I've been meaning for about a year to get myself a larger French press, and kept putting it off.

Bowling . . . I don't know why they call it "cosmic." There were videos playing on screens over the lanes, black lights, and fluorescent bowling balls. Is that "cosmic"? I bowled pretty badly and drank a couple of beers, chatted with my teammates, and felt sort of down. At about 11 p.m. we finished up, and Social Guy wanted to go dancing, so I thought, "Yeah, sure, why not?" Dancing always cheers me up, and we went to a place that plays a pretty good mix of disco and new wave--the music of my youth!

So the dance floor was crowded, and Social Guy and I were dancing, and things began to feel a little, uh, intense at times. A little dirty dancing among friends is perfectly okay by me, but this felt like another category, and more personal. And funny, I guess, since we had just discussed--at length--his Friday night date with a woman I know, and how best to approach a couple of other women who interest him. We also talked about a couple of guys to whom he wanted to give my number. We're friends, and we've been trying to help each other out on the dating front, 'cause it's rough out there. But I thought, okay, we're leaving this on the dance floor. Sort of like that Vegas tourism slogan--what happens on the dance floor, stays on the dance floor, right? I don't know, because as we drove back to the city, he reached over for my hand.

He's a nice guy, but he's a friend. And as I've said before, I don't feel the spark with him. So I'm a little puzzled, but not puzzled enough to be fretting or worried or anything like that. It's a passive puzzlement. You know, I enjoyed the attention, and I'm content to leave it at that.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter