index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Joking
1:00 a.m. & Friday, Oct. 03, 2003

Everyone must go see Eddie Izz_ard, and that, dearies, is that. I am not asking you to go see him or suggesting that you might go see him. I am saying that you MUST. I just had the best time at his show. I love that he does the entire show in drag, and he only talks about being a transvestite for about three minutes at the beginning, and then he just gets on with it.

He was so funny that I almost didn't cry during the show. I wish I were kidding, I really do, but in fact I welled up for a few minutes and had to dig around in my bag for a tissue. Something he said, or the expression on his face, or some minute gesture of his reminded me of someone. I know, I know, but listen: the theater is adjacent to The Irishman's job site, and we parked in the parking garage where The Irishman parks, and we were in all these other places where I walked with him just last week. So, bloody hell, yeah, it got to me.

I went with this friend of mine, a guy I met in my social club. He wouldn't let me pay for my ticket, which I know was not cheap. That was very nice of him, especially since I'm not particularly good company right now, but the problem is . . . he wants to date me. He did all the things you want a boy to do on a date--"You look nice tonight," opening doors, etc.--and over chilaquiles afterward, as we discussed our dating woes, he said, "Nance, I'd date you."

Uh. I'm not saying that's not a flattering thing to hear, especially given my current circumstances. I just don't have one ounce of romantic interest in this guy, not even a smidgen or a trace. I never have.

So I didn't know quite what to say. All I could do was point out that I'm sad and cynical and not fit for much of anything right now. I mean, I cried at the Eddie Izz_ard show. Clearly, I'm rather far gone. Not irretrievable, I don't think, but still somewhere around the bend.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter