index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Check
10:52 a.m. & Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003

Fun time with The Irishman last night, and somewhat illuminating. First we went over to the lakefront, where we had a little walk along the "beach." It was a truly beautiful night--clear sky, and the skyline reflected in the water. Scrumptious. Then we went to Franc_es' Deli--pastrami on rye for him, best-salad-in-the-world for me. Also scrumptious.

Over dinner we talked about relationships. Not our relationship, and not our past relationships, but in a very general way about dating and moving in together and getting married. It started because I've been watching some relationships break up recently, and I was telling him about these events and what seemed to be going wrong for these couples. I wanted to hear his general thoughts about long-term dating and living together. He has never lived with a girlfriend. Interesting.

Later he asked me if I told my friends that I hit on him first when we met. I said, "No, because that's just not the case." And then we had a friendly argument over that. He's convinced that I did most of the pursuing the first couple of times we saw each other, and I think he's just wrong about that. "Odd," I said, "Because usually you're at least somewhere in the general vicinity of right." To tell you the truth, I'm a little uncomfortable knowing that he thinks that.

I asked him if he wants to drive out to Starv_ed Rock one of these days--just for the day--and he replied, "We'll see."

Taking all of last night into consideration, I've decided to stand back a little and see what he does next. I don't want to be seen as the predatory woman who pushes the relationship along according to her own schedule. (By that I mean two things: (1) I don't want him to see me that way, and (2) I don't want to feel that way about myself.)

It sounds like a game strategy, doesn't it. I swear, I don't want to play a game. I just want to see where he stands.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter