index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Chicken tikka masala? Never again.
10:18 p.m. & Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2003

I posted about my little issue on Digs, in Dear Digs. Heh, you'll know it when you see it.

I slept all afternoon and feel better now. Tonight our conversation went (in part) like this:

Irishman: "How are you feeling? Any better than you were this morning?"

Schmance: "At work I started to feel like I was coming down with something, so I came home and slept all afternoon. I was exhausted; I barely slept last night. I feel better now."

I: "I knew you were up a couple of times in the night. You think it was the food, and maybe a couple of other things as well?"

S: "I think it was the food, and to tell you the truth, I was uncomfortable with the conversation."

I: "Yes. I saw that you were. I didn't know what to do about it."

S: "Yeah, you know, it just felt very unsettling to hear all of that, because I've spent so much of my adult life in exclusive relationships. And you haven't."

I: "I know. I understand. I don't think we need to re-visit the topic, do you?"

S: "No, we probably don't."

And then we went on to discuss my birthday dinner. He's going to have a killer weekend at work, which stinks, but he has promised to take a nap Saturday afternoon no matter what. I think I will too; somehow exhaustion seems to feed my insecurities.

I guess I still don't feel great. I just need time.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter