index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Let me entertain you
10:40 a.m. & Sunday, Sept. 14, 2003

I think I'm having people over for Rosh Hashanah dinner. At the moment it looks like a friend from work, her boyfriend, another friend from work, and The Irishman. I'd like to toss someone else into the mix, but I can't think who it should be. Maybe this woman I know whose daughter is in J's preschool class? Is that weird? Two couples and two single women?

Ohhh, it's terrifying. It's a genuine triple threat: people in my home, people eating my cooking, and my friends meeting The Irishman. What do I give these people to eat? I feel compelled to produce a brisket, but then I need something for the vegetarian. And a lot of wine. And also something for my guests to drink, har-har.

So I need a menu. Under the circumstances, I think I can be forgiven for keeping things very simple. Brisket, a vegetarian alternative, roasted potatoes? or kasha?, orange-glazed carrots, some salad-y thing, and challah. For dessert, I think a honey-apple cake.

Feel like crying again. Perhaps I need more coffee.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter