index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Grand
8:56 a.m. & Wednesday, Sept. 10, 2003

He�s back and I�m SO GLAD. Yay, he�s back. Okay, yes, I know he was only gone a couple of days. I do know that. I know that I�m a freakish freaky freak for missing him for those two little days. I know.

I switched nights with J�s dad this week, so tonight I get to enjoy an evening with The Irishman. I was halfheartedly browsing the movie listings when he called, and when he asked me what I want to do tomorrow night I said, �You know, if it�s a nice evening can we just have a walk by the lake or something?� And he said, �Yeah, I was thinkin� the same thing. That�s grand. Let�s do that.� Ah, grand.

Know what else is grand? He calls me at work sometimes. I heart that, because I know he's absolutely buried all day, running here and there to the site and to meetings, and it makes me happy to know that I'm a little bit on his mind.

Yesterday was a full-on spanner-in-the-works kind of day. Late in the day Monday we discovered a serious problem�a share transfer that was meant to take place at July 1 did not occur, and July financials for our offshore funds were being held up until we could resolve this. I spent the most of yesterday (1) e-mailing and phoning instructions to the transferor's trustee, (2) e-mailing and phoning instructions to the transferee�s administrator, (3) e-mailing and phoning the Fund administrator, who would have to handle the transfer (and neglected to do it in the first place, and refused to back-date it to July 1), and (4) phoning the Fund manager, begging them to strong-arm their administrator into back-dating because the transferee had already paid the transferor for the shares.

It's all okay now (not that I can really take credit for the resolution, it was a team effort), but I couldn�t help thinking of the �tricky knots� and �events that occur near the 10th� from my horoscope. Funny.

J did not cry at drop-off today. Hallelujah, brothers and sisters! Now all that's needed is an end to this PMS, so the bloating and the volatility and the really painful blemish will GO AWAY.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter