index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
What???!!
11:17 a.m. & Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003

Okay, everything is fine. Hee.

One of my co-workers caught me singing along with the music in the coffee shop as I doctored my coffee his morning. Busted! I had a big goofy grin on my face, too. So busted!

Man, I was so irritated and cranky yesterday, especially after playing a truly annoying round of phone tag with The Irishman. He phoned me, and his mobile battery was dying, so I was to phone him back and leave a voicemail with the movie options for last night, but when I phoned him back he answered instead of letting it go to voicemail, and he sounded like he was in a damn helicopter and we couldn't hear each other. Then he hadn't returned my call by the time I left the office for a five o'clock appointment, so I left a voicemail saying, "Ring me on my mobile AFTER SIX."

He followed instructions, we made a plan, and we had a great evening. Dinner, a long walk, and "The I_talian Job." That was a good choice--lighthearted, enjoyable, crime-caper stuff with decent eye candy for everyone. And, I might add, a great relief after the last couple of films we saw.

Okay, so all that, and then after the movie we went to my place. To my great relief--because I didn't want this stuff languishing in my refrigerator--he finished off the pate from the picnic. We chattered away about this and that, and about his upcoming trip to Boston, and about how we won't see each other again until next weekend, and how that's a drag. And then we decided that he'd just stay the night.

So he did, and everything was fantastic. Even the actual sleeping was fantastic. We were both stirring and drowsily awake at five this morning, and he half-whispered, "Come curl up with me and let's sleep for another hour, honey." Holy crap, that felt good.

So, yeah. We got up at six and maneuvered around each other as if it were old hat. As if we've been doing this for, oh, just ages . . . taking showers, getting dressed, making the tea, pouring the orange juice, listening to the news on the radio, having the how-does-your-day-look chat, kissing each other good-bye. I guess I had forgotten how truly pleasant it can be to have the company of someone you like as you go about the mundane business of life. It was crazy nice.

And that�s why I got busted singing in the coffee shop.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter