index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Dignity
4:57 p.m. & Monday, Aug. 18, 2003

Got a lead on a lawyer. Egads, it�s come to this, so it has. It�s a good enough idea to have everything on paper and on file with the court, but must we expect the worst of each other? I didn't want to play this particular game. That must sound terribly na�ve, I see that now.

I�ve asked J�s father not to come up to my apartment with J after school. Ordinarily, the two of them would go up and wait for me to arrive home from work. Now, I don�t want him in my home. I�ll meet them at the school or pick J up from his father�s place. I have this mental image of him poking round my place, reading my mail, searching the dresser drawers, looking for evidence that I�ve become an unfit mother.

That�s a bit rich, isn�t it, since this is the same man who moved a total stranger into his home to see if they were a good match, routinely introduces casual hook-ups to his children, and admits to having dated fifteen women in the last 18 months.

Well, I�m sure they were all Jewish. That makes it okay, y�know.

I know, I know, that was kind of unnecessary.

Okay, I must calm myself before I leave my desk to go home. Let me be the bigger person, the one who maintains composure. Schmance the Unruffleable. Good thing I have on my high heels.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter