index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Mingle mingle mmmmmmingle
7:02 a.m. & Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003

We did both show up for the event last night, an icebreaker at a local brewpub. I saw him arrive but--for reasons I still don't understand--pretended not to. He came over to say hi (with a big grin, hee) and then we mingled because that was the entire purpose of the event.

This was so weird--being at a "singles event" with someone you've been out with and plan to go out with again in a few days, and watching that person mix and mingle. We estimated the male-to-female ratio at roughly 1:5, too.

I sort of wanted to flee right then instead of watching him chat with thirty women. But no, I downed my beer and began to mingle too. There was a game--like bingo, where you have to locate one person for every square on your playing card. The squares say things like, "Has seen the Rolling Stones in concert," "Can tell you what babaganoush is," and "Lives in a highrise." Terribly cheesy, but a fun way to pass the time if you just drop your this-is-lame attitude and throw yourself into it. The Irishman was my "Wakes up before 6 am on weekdays" and I was his "Has lived in at least 3 states." (Awwwwwww.)

After the game I chatted with a few people, The Irishman bought me another beer, and we mingled around a bit more. I was smack in the middle of a sentence when he passed behind me and surreptitiously blew on my neck, prompting the man I was talking to to raise his eyebrows and ask, "How do YOU TWO know each other?" Unfair! (But, rrrrrrrowr!) The Irishman was highly critical of this man, henceforth known as B@nk One, later deeming him, "Dull as shite." He doesn't mince words, this one.

After the event he gave me a lift home. That's all I'm saying about that part of the evening.

The plan for Saturday is dinner and a play, or dinner and a comedy show. I forgot to ask if there would be further neck-blowing, but it seems a safe enough bet.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter