index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Just . . . so nice
10:23 a.m. & Sunday, Aug. 10, 2003

I can't think of a clever to way to start this entry about my very fun date last night.

Well, it was fun once it started, after I finally managed to get myself dressed. One of my friends had helped me pick out one of those drapey floral peasant-style tops and I planned to wear it with black pants or a skirt, but when I put it on I felt ridiculous and conspicuously costumed. Also, I lacked a necklace to wear with it. My friends find my lack of accessories a little exasperating, but I'm just not an accessorized kind of girl. Scarves give me panic attacks, as do delicate beaded things. I like my neat tailored clothing and my simple silver earrings.

So I ditched the feminine floaty look for a simple skirt, a silky twinset, and black ankle-strap pumps. He picked me up at 9 and we went to dinner at a Thai place I'd been wanting to try, and it was very good. From there we went to a jazz club, which I loved for the great music, good drinks, and nice crowd. Somehow we lucked into a couple of seats at the bar, and it was very cozy.

We had excellent conversation all evening, mostly sticking to topics that people generally try to avoid on a first date. We talked politics, and it turns out that we have compatible voting patterns and similar views on many hot-button issues. We also talked a lot about religion--turns out he knows an awful lot about Judaism and Israel. Go figure.

He smelled good. Also, he has nice manners and funny stories. I just like being with him, and I did have the distinct impression that the feeling was mutual. We definitely have some nice chemistry (yay for chemistry!) and are very comfortable together.

I'm too cynical to assume the best when a man says, "When can we get together again?" and "I'll call you tomorrow so we can arrange it."

So, Diary, we'll see.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter