index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Diving off a rock into another moment
11:01 p.m. & Tuesday, Jul. 29, 2003

Okay, please pardon the typos I'm almost sure to make in this entry . . . I've got quite a bit of gin & tonic in me. Well, not that much, but enough to loosen me up to the point of being charming and chatty with total strangers.

So the happy hour! Totally happy! It was a nice group, really nice, full of people I liked meeting.

I was chatting with a firefighter and having trouble with my left contact lens (must call eye doctor about that) and I kept looking up and seeing this guy. At first I thought, oh, he's cute. Then I saw him eating chicken wings (it just never looks good, that) and thought maybe he wasn't so cute, but we kept looking at each other. I'd look up, he'd be looking at me. Then I'd glance at him, and he'd look up and see me glancing. Classic. Then later he introduced himself, we shook hands, and we sat down and talked for a long time, and he bought me a drink. It was one of those weird conversations where you're finding out about each other, knowing that you don't know each other at all, but feeling like you can say anything because you've known each other for ages. Strange, but comfortable. Other people drifted in and out of our conversation, but we just kept on talking to each other. We talked about travel, and photography, and skiing, and our families, and somehow everything he said was interesting. This guy really has the the gift of the gab.

Eventually he had to leave, and we shook hands again and said "Great meeting you," and he asked me if I'd be at the next outdoor film festival event (we had talked about that earlier), and I said, "Well, of course," and he said, "Brilliant, I'll see you there." And then he sort of leaned in for one of those continental air-kisses. And that was lovely.

I'm not thinking ahead, not worrying, not even wondering. I'm just savoring. It's just so nice to know that I can still be the person I was tonight. Or, rather, that I can just be myself and occasionally stumble across someone who likes that sort of person.

So. Yeah.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter