index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
My son, the vegan
5:53 p.m. & Sunday, Jul. 20, 2003

Oh, gee, I just dropped $113 at the grocery store. And $80 at Ikea.

At Ikea we got two rugs to cover the hideous green/brown carpet in the second bedroom, which I am trying to make more habitable for J. He also got a mini chest of drawers for storing some of his mini-sized treasures. For myself, I got some wooden magazine files and a chair cushion.

So I've managed to hide most of the hideous carpet, and I moved some shelving units in there for J's toys and books. Next I'm going to address the wall that's covered in hideous dark brown cork tiles--I have an enormous canvas dropcloth that I'm planning to use to cover that monstrosity--and take the bed off the metal frame that makes it too high and scary. Then, some fun new bedlinens of J's choosing.

And all this should be done just in time for us to move, har har. Next time, I'm holding out for an apartment that doesn't have hideous carpet and wall treatments.

Did I mention that J chose the rugs himself, and they are crazy-bright? Electric blue, with a curvy stripe of white down the middle--wheeeee! He loves them, though, and that's all that matters.

Friday night we went to the BBQ at the synagogue and had a really nice time. J astonished everyone by eating a big plate's worth of grapes, tomatoes, and cucumbers. People were friendly, the food was great, and J kicked a soccer ball around with some kids and their dads. I got a warm little feeling inside, and it wasn't heartburn.

And now, my tip of the day: Before you call the phone company to report that you have no dial tone, check to make sure that your cordless phone is plugged in. Just a suggestion. (Well, at least I figured it out before they dispatched a technician. Partial credit?)

{ prev & next }

Site Meter