index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Not Disney World, I beg you!
4:38 p.m. & Wednesday, Jul. 16, 2003

I have found the vacation I want. It's a singles trip to La Paz in November. I would fly to Los Angeles, join the group for the flight to Mexico, and have 3 days in a nice oceanfront hotel. It's a group trip, but there's no schedule--people are free to sign up for tours and activities, or not. There's snorkeling, kayaking, and stuff like that. Every evening there's a social hour, which sounds nice. Margaritas at sunset!

The cost is $599, which includes lodging, one dinner, breakfast every morning, airport transfers, air and hotel taxes, gratuities, and roundtrip airfare between L.A. and La Paz. The only additional costs would be Chicago-L.A. airfare, a few meals, and drinks and incidentals.

I called the travel agency that's organizing this trip, and the agent was very nice. She visits this place frequently and really knows her way around. I did some research on the hotel and it looks great--two pools, restaurants, fountains, balconies, etc.

I could go on this trip. I could send in the deposit next week, and put it on my calendar, and look forward to it every day. Of course everyone says I should go, I deserve a vacation, it's a great price.

But, what about J? He deserves a vacation, too. I would love to take him somewhere beachy, where he could dig in the sand, explore tide pools, build forts and castles, dip his cute little toes in the water, and splash in a kiddie pool. (Of course I would apply sunblock liberally and frequently. Of course!)

I'm not sure how to accomplish this. First, J is vehemently opposed to traveling by plane. He wants to go in a car, even though I've explained that we are imprisoned in the middle of the continent and can't drive to a beachy locale. (Lake Michigan beaches are out of the question, due to substantial ickiness.) He simply won't be persuaded that a beachy vacation is well worth the agony of air travel. Should I drag the reluctant traveler onto the airplane anyway?

My only alternative to dragging this reluctant traveler onto the airplane is to suck it up and settle for a trip that might be great fun for him and a terrible ersatz vacation for me. People keep suggesting the Wisconsin Dells, which makes me feel like crying. The Lake of the Ozarks comes up a lot too, which I find equally depressing.

Oh, fiddle. We should all have such "dilemmas." I'm a spoiled beast of a mother.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter