index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
I didn't go, girl
2:46 a.m. & Sunday, Jul. 13, 2003

My weekend is not lousy! Just quiet. And the path to true happiness leads through solitude, or some such thing. I dunno, I read that somewhere.

Yesterday afternoon I was really dreading the weekend and starting to come unglued, but I went to the gym and the used bookstore after work and then I was okay. Today I slept in, cleaned up the bedroom, read a bunch, and then took a nap. Later I got dressed and left for havdalah at the synagogue; my neighbor from across the hall saw me in the lobby and said, "You go, girl, you look gorgeous!" Um, whatever, it's a long skirt and a twinset. She's all about me "getting back out there." Fine for her, she drives a BMW and looks to be about a size four. She also has the most massive shoe collection I've ever seen in person. Which is funny for a yoga teacher, I think.

Also funny is how I went to the synagogue, and then completely lost my nerve and didn't actually go to the service. Ha, isn't that funny? I was in the sanctuary, but no one else was there, and then I realized they were all downstairs, and I didn't want to walk into a room full of people where (a) I don't really know anyone, and (b) I don't know my way around the service and it's all in Hebrew so I need a special transliterated prayerbook, and then I'm sitting when I should stand and vice versa and I feel like the most totally inept person on the planet. So I just slipped out before anyone could see me. If the regular rabbi had been there, I would have been okay, but he's on sabbatical. I just needed to know there would be one friendly, familiar face. Since I didn't know that, I couldn't walk into that room and screw up the choreography.

Then I didn't know what to do, so I picked up some videos and made nachos. Now it's three a.m. and I should go to bed, but--alas!--I have eaten some dark chocolate and have a little caffeine buzz going. But there's a wonderful cool breeze here, so if I put on my comfy pajamas I'll probably drift off.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter