index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Hear that creaking? It's not the gulls.
2:22 p.m. & Monday, Jul. 07, 2003

Where am I? What is this place with the bad vibes? Oh, right, it's my workplace.

People here in my workplace are not very creative. They keep saying the same things: "Uh, so-and-so didn't get the wire." "Uh, so-and-so didn't get the documents." All the wires and documents people didn't get turn out to be the responsibility of our offshore administrator, but no one there is in the office today. As much as I would like to conjure up wire reference numbers and fax confirmations, I simply cannot. I left my magic wand at home to do the dishes and the laundry.

Yesterday J and I had a picnic at the zoo, which was fun except for the gulls pestering us nonstop. They are used to people feeding them popcorn and bread, and now they expect everyone to feed them, and they make scary noises. (People? Stop feeding the gulls! Please!) J kept shouting, "GULLS! Stop sounding like cats!"

J got new sandals yesterday, the sporty variety with velcro. He's ready for anything in those shoes. He feels they're not only good for playing in the sprinkler and visiting the water park; they're also excellent for running and generally hanging around. He looks like a miniature rafting guide.

I went to lunch with the accounting kids today, and felt as though I had wandered into a foreign country. The conversation was about movies I've barely heard of, TV shows I've never watched, and people whose names I didn't recognize. I am old. Next stop, Middle-Aged City. I should have gone to the gym instead, like I planned. I have a new personal policy: No more lunching with those guys.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter