index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Ew, yellow sky
8:01 p.m. & Saturday, Jul. 05, 2003

We had the most violent storm this morning. I woke up to deafening thunder and driving rain, and the sky looked sort of yellow-gray. The force of the wind was incredible. I couldn't see the high-rise that's directly across the street--the one that's so close that I can usually see what the residents are watching on TV. I was actually scared (and I grew up in Tornado Alley, so it takes an extreme sort of storm to really scare me), and started thinking that I might have to pull J out of bed and take cover. Fortunately, that wasn't necessary.

Okay, so the fireworks event was kind of fun. We had dinner, watched the fireworks, went on one of the rides, and listened to a band at the beer garden. Some of us decided to go back later in the summer to hear the same band again--a really fun cover band that we all loved--and we swapped business cards. I found a new top and cute little black handbag that afternoon, and I felt good. (I'm not sure when I became a girly-girl, but oh well.)

I could do without the people at these events who complain endlessly about their online dating misadventures and bad fix-ups. I sympathize, but I find that kind of talk very discouraging. On the other hand, it does make me feel slightly better about not dating. Apparently, I'm not missing much.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter