index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Really, really, really doesn't hurt
5:18 p.m. & Friday, Jun. 27, 2003

This morning J had a little swelling and a tiny little red mark just below his nose. He kept touching his lip and then saying, "It really, really, really doesn't hurt, Mom!"

I, on the other hand, am still something of a wreck. All day long I kept thinking of that horrible moment when he started screaming and I saw the blood. At about 4:40 I thought about it again, and then I thought about my upcoming weekend without him, and then I was in tears. Good grief.

The last couple of days have been pretty grueling at work, too. I'm coordinating close to one hundred different allocations, domestic and offshore. The amount of paperwork is stunning. The phone calls and e-mails have been non-stop. And yesterday, when I realized I had exactly one signatory in the office and he was leaving at noon to play golf, I came very close to losing my composure. Very, very close. So far all the details seem to have been nailed down, but I'm still concerned about what could happen when all the money will begin to move next week.

Now, because sundown is so late these days, I'm off to the gym.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter