index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
I just want a candidate to love, is that so wrong?
7:25 p.m. & Monday, Jun. 23, 2003

I can't stop buying and cooking salmon. I do not know what is wrong with me. Please remember that I grew up in Kansas, where no one really eats fish because they are land-locked. Other than catfish, and I can't stand the thought of catfish. Shiver.

So I keep buying salmon filets lately, and marinating it in yummy stuff, and broiling it. I also keep not liking it so very much, and turning it into salmon patties with some egg and bread crumbs and Dijon mustard and pepper. I keep liking the salmon patties very much. Why can't I just like the salmon, nicely marinated and broiled and sitting on my plate with some olive-oil-and-garlic couscous? I liked it in Se@ttle, with mashed potatoes and sauteed spinach.

All right, well, I just don't know.

All afternoon I sang a little song that goes, "I went to the gy-ym, to the gy-ym, I got all sweeeeaaaaaty, and I feel bet-ter now. Hm hm hm hm hm hm hm."

Now I'm not singing the song any more because I'm preoccupied with the 2004 Presidential election. Or, more accurately, with the field of Democratic candidates. A girl at work was telling me about the conspiracy theory that has the U.S. government masterminding the September 11 attacks as a way of justifying its doings in Iraq (her friend in Germany saw a very convincing documentary, it seems), and how much she hates George Bush now, and how she hopes "we" don't vote for Bush again next year. And how, sure, she thinks it's crazy too, but all of Europe is thinking bad things about the U.S., and how the whole world--everybody!--hates us.

"Oh," I murmured, "Did you say something? Sorry, I was daydreaming about universal health care, alternative energy sources, and a bull market. Sigh."

{ prev & next }

Site Meter