index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Next time, a nice motel
10:04 p.m. & Tuesday, Jun. 10, 2003

We're back, we're back, we're back. We're back from Kansas. My nephew is doing really well--I got to hold him!--and the doctor says he'll probably be out of the hospital in a week or so. See? So scrappy! My sister and brother-in-law are about to fall over from the stress and exhaustion, though. I felt like a worm, coming back to my easy little life here.

And, my mom is stuffing her house with furniture. I really mean STUFFING. There's barely room for people to move around in that house now. She has tables you can't sit at because they're wedged in among buffets and rocking chairs and bookcases. What's more, all this furniture is crammed full of stuff--every drawer, shelf, and cupboard--and she keeps bringing home more furniture because she needs more places to store more stuff. It's just crazy. Every horizontal surface is taken up with framed photos, baskets, knick-knacks, books, magazines, catalogs, appliances, pottery, and so on. She has floral wallpaper on damn near every wall in the house, and more stuff hanging on said walls. There's a whole bedroom (in a three-bedroom house) that's used only for storing stuff.

My mother is a very unhappy person. I can't help wondering if she really is trying to crowd everyone out. She's not connecting with anyone in her life; maybe she just wants to be left alone with all her stuff. I'm worried.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter