index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Best stay out of the shops for a spell
10:38 p.m. & Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2003

Oh, feh. Care to guess who didn't get everything done today? That's right, the girl with the flippy hair and all the cute new clothes.

No seat on the bus this morning = no crossword puzzling.

Long wait for the bus = no chance to deposit check before work.

Buying black tights at lunchtime because I was freezing (yes, I hear tell it's June) = no gym.

I returned the shoes to Filene's Basement, though, and that really took the wind out of my sails. What follows is a true accounting of the transaction:

"Next person in line, step up."

"Hi there, I have a return."

"You're missing the top part of the receipt."

"Oh, the register ran out of paper when she rang up the sale, and"

"That's no reason why you should only have part of the receipt."

"Well, that's what happened. The top part printed, then she had to change the paper, and then the bottom part printed on the new roll of paper. And that's the part she gave me. It shows the date, and all the items, and the credit card number."

"But you're missing all the info on the top."

"That's all she gave me."

"But you're missing the top of the receipt."

"That's all I have."

"What's your I.D."

"Excuse me?"

"What's your I.D."

"What's my I.D.?"

"Yeah [exasperated sigh and eye-rolling]. I need your ID and the card you used for the purchase."

"Oh! Oh, okay, sure, sorry, here you go."

[Brief conference with supervisor, still MORE talk about how the top of the receipt is missing, lots of button-punching and exasperated sighs.]

"Sign at the bottom. Next time get the whole receipt."

"I'm sorry, I didn't know."

[Muttering.] "Yeah, right, didn't know."

Help me out here: In which dictionary does "What's your I.D." translate to "May I see an I.D., please?" I don't normally say things like this, but, hello, what a *&^%$%* *&^#$@. A sour experience, from start to finish.

After that, what could I do but ditch the grocery shopping and come straight home to console myself with a hot bath and some dark chocolate. I'm not taking any flak for that decision, either. Tomorrow's another day. Experience tells me that Whole Foods will still be there, full of people who will sigh exasperatedly and stare pointedly because I'm in their way. I don't know why, but I'm ALWAYS in someone's way at Whole Foods, and that someone always seems to be suffering terribly as a result.

Dude, I've got myself some bad shopping karma.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter