index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
. . . but I know what I like
9:16 a.m. & Monday, May. 12, 2003

Yesterday I went to my first social club event. I had my usual �I don�t have anything to wear and I don�t want to go anyway, plus the weather is crappy so maybe I�ll just skip it� crisis, but I forced myself to go because I had already paid for it. And I had a great time! We met for drinks and food and then went on to ArtChicago 2003. The people were friendly and interesting, and it was fun hanging out and getting to know them.

I never would have gone to ArtChicago on my own. It�s at Navy Pier, which I don�t like because getting there is a pain in the neck, and once you get there it�s expensive and touristy. Also, ArtChicago is all contemporary art, which I didn�t think I liked. It turns out, though, that my tastes in art have changed (even though I�m still not a fan of Navy Pier). I�d definitely go back next year (preferably with $10,000 to spend, though that seems unlikely).

You know, I got exactly the outcome I wanted: I got out of the house, met some nice & interesting people, and discovered a new interest. I�m a little amazed.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter