index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Just wake me after Labor Day
10:34 p.m. & Saturday, Apr. 26, 2003

So did anyone notice that I used my new pet phrase (that would be "beat the living hell out of") in my last entry? Hee!

Aaaaaanyway, speaking of feeling like I'm getting the living hell beaten out of me, I placed an online personal ad. I'm approximately 99.8769% certain it will come to nothing. I had to do something, you see, because I haven't had sex in something like two years, and I felt that I ought to be doing something that could be construed as working toward the goal of eventually having sex again at some point in my life. I'm not even kidding or exaggerating when I say "something like two years." J's father moved out over a year ago, and prior to that there was nothing going on for quite some time. And since he moved out, well, it's as if I've been wearing some sort of invisibility cloak. Perhaps my specs are to blame, hell, I don't know.

I was at work Friday, trying to concentrate on looking up some boring bullshit details about the various classes of our offshore investments (see, you're yawning, are you not?), and I thought something along the lines of, "It's so unfair that I have a body, and physical desires, and what the hell?? How am I ever, ever going to meet someone with this life I have? With a screechy Big Brother for a boss, breathing down my neck all day, and a four-year-old yammering nonstop in my ear the rest of the time?"

Could I meet someone on the bus, when we're all wedged in and snarling at one another? At the grocery store, while J peppers me with questions about why there's no kosher symbol on the toilet paper, the anti-perspirant, the magazines? Or maybe at the gym, because pink-and-sweaty is a fantastic look for me.

Perhaps you can see how dark my romantic future suddenly seemed. Er, seems.

Have a nice spring, everybody.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter