index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Blame it on the brisket
12:59 a.m. & Sunday, Apr. 20, 2003

Kids, I have been so productive! J went to his dad's house Friday morning and is coming home tomorrow afternoon. I gave myself Friday to sort of noodle around and do a little shopping, and then I put a brisket and some potatoes in the oven.

Oh yum. Even I have to admit that I'm a good cook (and I'm not my biggest fan, as you know).

Tonight, I went to the rabbi's class at 6:15 (learned a lot about chol ha-moed) and stayed for mincha, another little shiur, maariv, and havdalah. You'll never in a million years believe what I am about to say, but it's true: I introduced myself to, like, three people. And the rabbi introduced me to some people. And I asked him the burning question that's been on J's mind for weeks now: Just what is up with the half-moon-K? Is it an acceptable hechsher, or do we have to look for another brand of yogurt? Turns out, we can still have our Horizon Organic.

Who AM I? I barely recognize myself. I introduced myself to people? I asked a question, out loud?? I noticed a very good-looking man in shul, super-cute and very quiet? Apparently, my switch is now in the "on" position.

After all that, I ran off to the supertastic brand new Home Depot in Lincoln Park (PEOPLE! I now have unfettered access to home-improvement supplies! They're open until 10 pm! So happy!) for primer and paint chips. Then, a couple of hours ago, I tore down the yellowing floral bathroom wallpaper and started priming the walls. All done.

Tomorrow I'm going back to Home Depot for the paint.

See, it really doesn't take much to perk me right up: some brisket, some learning, some contact with other adult humans, and a nice project at home. And some coffee. Easy.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter