index archives profile rings Digs email notes design host
Anybody else got news? Here, take a number.
10:29 a.m. & Friday, Apr. 04, 2003

Today, I gave myself permission to stay home and use a sick day. I have not been able to shake this nasty cold (cough, sore throat, headache) and I need a day to lie on the couch and REST. So here I am, not lying on the couch at all but rather (koff koff) sitting at the (ka-choo) computer. Ahem. I'm going to lie down as soon as I'm done here, yes.

So J's father has a new girlfriend and he wants to marry her in six months. She's in advertising and he has already met her father. This is all I really know, because he wanted to share more details and I said, in a very bright and chipper fashion, "Oh, I don't need to know all this!" It's a good thing, it is. I hope it works out for them. He deserves to be happy and in love.

Also, yesterday my friend at work dropped this bombshell: Back in January, she ENLISTED in the ARMED FORCES without telling anyone and scheduled to begin basic training in MAY. Ka-thunk! After that, she's scheduled for technical training in HELICOPTER REPAIR. I repeat, ka-thunk! (I gotcher shock and awe right here.) But, a couple of months ago she met that new boyfriend of hers and now she has decided to put off the Army so she can stay here with her schweetie. I knew something was going on, because she was acting all noodle-headed and stressed-out but her explanations did not add up. She finally came out with it after I raised my eyebrow at her about seventeen times. Now I know what all that running and push-up business was about.

Also, the school district where my sister teaches did not renew her contract. I think it's pretty much okay with her; her second baby is due in July, and she's about to finish her master's degree in educational design, and she was feeling kind of worn down and embittered in the classroom. Still, it's a bit of a shock and also a blow to her self-esteem.

As J is fond of saying, great googly-moogly.

{ prev & next }

Site Meter